Arizona PBS and Cronkite win Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards



Arizona PBS and Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication won a total of 10 Emmy Awards® and Student Production Awards at the Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences – in professional categories ranging from arts and entertainment to politics and government as well as student categories ranging from news broadcasts to sports.

Arizona PBS has won three Emmys®, covering a variety of magazine programs, audio production and interview content. The programs that won awards were “Catalyst” and “Plate and Pour”. Watch the Arizona PBS Emmy Award-winning programs here.

The “Arizona Senate Debate 2020, One of the most-watched Arizona PBS shows in the station’s history, took first place in the Political / Government Content category. During the debate, the moderators – especially Ted Simons of “Arizona Horizon” – were praised for their questions and persistence.

Students at Arizona State University’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication have won seven student production awards in six categories this year. The awards recognize the best in academic journalism, and since 2009 Cronkite students have won 71 student production awards.

Arizona State University also won an award for Branded Content: Short Form with “Innovation at ASU.”

“I am extremely proud of the performance of the Cronkite School and Arizona PBS in the Emmys competition,” said Dean Battinto L. Batts Jr of the Cronkite School. “Our success is due to the work of many talented students and professionals who have dedicated themselves to the cause of journalism. It is a privilege to be able to celebrate their accomplishments this evening.

“I couldn’t be more proud of Team Arizona PBS’s Rocky Mountain Emmy winners,” said Adrienne Fairwell, General Manager of Arizona PBS. “The winners and nominees are to be applauded because their work is a true testament to their dedication to the Arizonans. This team worked hard during the 2020 pandemic to produce entertaining, educational and informative content. We are very proud to be the link between our communities in Arizona.

The Rocky Mountain Southwest section of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences honors the art and science of people working in television with Emmy® Awards and covers areas of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and Southeastern California.

The 44th Annual Rocky Mountain Emmy Awards were held at the Phoenician in Scottsdale. Arizona PBS and Cronkite School winners are:

Arizona PBS

Technology: Long Form Content

Catalyst: Isotopes, migrants and mysteries

Steve Filmer, producer

Vanessa Ruiz, producer

Politics / government: content of the long form

Arizona Senate Debate 2020

Allysa Adams, producer

Ted Simons, Host

Lorraine Rivera, host

Yvonne Wingett Sanchez, host

Mike Sauceda, producer

Laarni Fernandez Nuez, producer

Shana Fischer, producer

Content of the interview / discussion

Plate & Pour: pass it

Margery Punnett, series producer

Melissa Thompson, executive producer

Rebecca Guldberg, producer

Mark Tarbell, producer

Arizona State University

Brand content: short form

Innovation at ASU

Joshua Belveal, director / screenwriter / editor / graphic animation

Amy Chou, producer

Safwat Saleem, producer / writer

Cronkite School Student Production Award


Cronkite News March 23, 2021

Angel Jimenez, producer

Multimedia journalist

Recorded FilmBar

Tyler Manion, journalist

Video test

A mother’s journey

Franco LaTona, journalist

Short form of non-fiction

Pioneer of the genre in Arizona

Tyler Manion, journalist

History or sport segment

Seated golfer prepares for the US Disabled Open

Jordan Spurgeon, journalist

A Sunrise Prayer on Piestewa Peak

Sarandon Raboin, journalist

Talent: News or Sports

Zachary Keenan, journalist


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.